How Setting Time Aside to Write is the Best Way to Help Yourself

The benefits dedicating time for writing has on improving your writing ability

Jerren Gan
4 min readApr 15, 2020
Photo by Brad Neathery on Unsplash

Improving one’s writing is extremely difficult. Other than long, arduous periods of writing practice, the only other way to improve is to spend long periods reading, be it about tips and tricks by renowned writers or on articles of similar topics. As such, many claim that they are too busy to spare the time to improve themselves (“Oh, writing is like a hobby I do on the side, I don’t think I should have to spend so much time on it”). I used to be like that as well. Other than writing for my blog, I loathed spending swaths of time to write, especially if it meant reducing the amount of time I had to watch dramas or to play my games. (I was younger then and my priorities were finishing the latest game or watching dramas everyone was watching.) As I started to write for Medium and fell out of a consistent posting schedule, the amount of time I spent writing fell even lower (although I did spend more time on writing poems I liked).

The low-productivity writing periods continued until I attempted NaNoWriMo in November. It was then I challenged myself to do lots of writing daily. Yet, the high intensity and high output writing process I ended up with left many articles that were in dire…

--

--

Jerren Gan

Systems Engineer and Physicist | Writing about the environment, mental health, science, and how all of them come together to create society as we know it.